I have a dream… (In English)

I have a dream…
   said once a well known
   American politician
in his speech

I also have a dream…
   of contributing to
   the world I want to live in

I mourn over broken relationships
   over trust lost to distrust, to despair
   and over love turned into hatred

Someone has said
   that hatred is only
   love that has gone astray [1]  
And I so much want
   to tie together
   what is broken to a whole

I would like to be part of
   the miracle
When trust is restored
   and reconciliation can take place

The road there
   just seem to me
   so tremblingly frail

If I dare to walk
   this road
it will be in the awareness of
that I need not be
   the solution itself
only a part
   of a bigger picture
Like the piece in a puzzle
   seemingly difficult to place
Which would still be missed in the whole
   If absent

And I am not alone
We are many who share a dream
   of a better world

During seven months, I have attended a course in mediating in conflicts based on Nonviolent Communication. The mediation programme, organized by Friare Liv (http://www.friareliv.se/en/) has been held four times with three days in a row. In addition to that we have all practiced in two small groups, one that has met at six occasions and another that have practiced every two week in a telephone conference.

On Saturday, May 20, 2017, the morning of the last course day, I read this poem and played the song Si by the French artist ZAZ. It was this very song and the experiences from the mediation programme that inspired me to write the poem.

The song can be found at ZAZ official website:
https://www.zazofficial.com/en/music/

You may also find it here with English subtitles:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qWX9p6SXZo

DSC_1679
Cherry blossom in Kungsträdgården, Stockholm.

[1] A quotation I found in a Swedish newspaper in the 80’s by someone called Bell Wall

Kommentera

